Texas License to Carry (was CHL)
The state-mandated course required to obtain a Texas License to Carry. The class covers
There is a written test and a shooting proficiency test. Also required, separately, are a background check and fingerprinting. We will guide you through the entire process.
- handgun safety
- the Texas Penal Code
- the Government Code
- restrictions on concealed/open carry
- use of deadly force
- legal responsibilities
- conflict resolution
- handgun storage
- other topics
Please do not bring a single-action .22 revolver.
|Length:||4 hrs + range time|
|Cost:||$75.00 (including range fees)|
|Private LTC class:
||Location varies, but often at our classroom at the range.
||Group classes are $100.00 plus $75.00/person. For 6 or more, just $75.00/person.
||Contact me privately
|Handgun License Class: Reserve a seat now!
We operate a private classroom/range complex a few miles NE of McKinney.
PLEASE NOTE: this class does not cover shooting. You are expected to already know how to load and shoot at least minimally,
and have a handgun. If you need to learn to shoot, or know how but do not have a handgun, contact me first.
There are also classes scheduled at least twice a month that will teach you to shoot well enough to pass this course.
Each student must determine for themselves their eligibility to obtain a Concealed Handgun License.
Please review eligibility requirements closely before registering, as we cannot be responsible for this.
The DPS makes the final determination on these matters.
A person is eligible for a license to carry a concealed handgun if the person:
- is a legal resident of Texas
- is at least 21 years of age (18-21 for active military)
- has not been convicted of a violent felony
- has not been convicted of a non-violent felony for 10 years
- has not been convicted of a Class A or Class B misdemeanor for 5 years
- is not currently charged with the commission of a felony, Class A or Class B misdemeanor, or equivalent offense, or an offense under Sec. 42.01 of the penal Code (Disorderly Conduct) or equivalent offense
- is not a fugitive from justice for a felony or Class A or Class B misdemeanor
- is not chemically dependant (a person with two convictions within the ten year period preceding the date of application for offenses (Class B or greater) involving the use of alcohol or a controlled substance is ineligible as a chemically dependant person. Other evidence of chemical dependency may also make an individual ineligible for a Texas CHL)
- is not incapable of exercising sound judgement with respect to the proper use and storage of a handgun
- has not, in the five years preceding the application, been convicted of a Class A or Class B misdemeanor, or an offense under Section 42.01 of the Penal Code (Disorderly Conduct) or equivalent offense
- is fully qualified under applicable federal and state law to purchase a handgun
- has not been finally determined to be delinquent in making child support administered or collected by the attorney general
- has not been finally determined to be delinquent in the payment of a tax or other money collected by the comptroller, state treasurer, tax collector of a political subdivision, Alcohol Beverage Commission or any other agency or subdivision
- is not currently restricted under a court protective order subject to a restraining order affecting a spousal relationship
- has not, in the 10 years preceding the date of application, been adjudicated as having engaged in delinquent conduct violating a penal law in the grade of felony
- has not made any material misrepresentation, or failed to disclose any material fact, in an application submitted pursuant to Section 411.174 or in a request for application submitted pursuant to Section 411.175
- Determine your eligibility
- Know how to shoot already, and own a gun, any caliber. You should know how to safely
handle a gun, and load and unload it. You will be tested on basic shooting skills. I can teach a
beginner enough in two sessions to pass the Proficiency test, but you won't learn that in the CHL class.
Unless you are a very experience shooter, you might consider practicing the Proficiency Test beforehand.
The target (B-27) is available at all commercial ranges. The course of fire is here.
- Visit the Department of Public Safety website to start the application process and pay your fee
(do not do this on any device without a printer attached). There are several types of discounts
applicable to the state fee. If you qualify for any, you may have to submit other documentation.
- As you finish the application, you will be shown a link to a checklist of items to send in. Print this.
- Also, at that time, you will be given the option of scheduling fingerprints. Do that at this time.
It is inexpensive ($10.00) and quick (computerized), and there are several convenient places to have it done.
They will submit the fingerprints for you, electronically.
- Sign up for the CHL class.
When the class is finished, the instructor will give you a signed form LTC-100.
Put into a large manila envelope the LTC-100 and any items of supporting documentation listed on your checklist,
and send it all to the DPS.
- You can also upload those items to the DPS website (if you can scan them into a PDF).
- Wait. The average time is three weeks. They process about 2000 each month.
The State of Texas is very supportive of the Concealed Carry Permit program, and makes it as easy as possible, within
the parameters required to balance public safety and Constitutional rights. State law mandates the eligibility
requirements, fees, the content of the course, the written test, the proficiency test, and all paperwork, as well
as licensing of individuals to teach Concealed Carry License classes.
This is a no-fail course.
The classroom part takes just over 4 hours to complete, and consists of several modules, covering
- Laws that relate to carrying a handgun
- Laws that relate to use of deadly force
- Handgun use and safety
- Non-violent dispute resolution
- Proper storage practices for handguns
The written test is short, and includes multiple-choice and true-false questions only. Anyone who pays
attention to the presentations should have no problem with it. If necessary, after some review, you can retake it,
but that is seldom required.
The shooting proficiency test is done after the written test. It doesn't take long. You will be shooting
at a large target, at a close distance. Few people have any trouble with it, but if necessary, we will work
with you until you can pass it easily. If you want to practice it beforehand (recommended), the
course of fire is here.
On the standard B-27 target, shown at right, everything in the 8, 9, and 10 rings counts 5 points.
The 7 ring counts 4 points, and everything outside the 7 ring (but inside the silhouette) counts 3 points.
All other shots count zero.
The caliber requirement has now been eliminated, so people are now allowed to use pistols chambered in
such exotic calibers as 5.7x28 and .17 HMR, although these are either rare or expensive. A more common
caliber in this range is the iconic .22 LR. There are many .22 pistols and revolvers to choose from,
but many of them are very small, like the Beretta "Bobcat". Something the size of a cell phone is
not a good choice for a shooting test. If you elect to go this way, I would recommend a longer
gun, like one of these:
Keep in mind that the .22 is still not generally considered to have sufficient stopping power for
self defense. Another option, though harder to find, is the .22 Magnum (.22 WMR), which is very close to
the .380 ACP in FBI penetration tests.
- Browning Buckmark
- Ruger Target (Mark IV recommended)
- S&W Victory
- S&W Model 41
- Colt 1911 (made under license by Walther)
Effective immediately, please do not bring a single-action .22 revolver! Those are distinguished
by a loading gate on the right side, instead of a cylinder that swings out for loading. People bringing a .22
for the Proficiency are usually not experienced enough to understand the danger in loading a single-action
revolver, and I do not want to take the risk.
Everything will be completed the same day.
Submit your email for notices of upcoming classes. Opt out any time. Addresses are purged after 120 days.
(No Hotmail emails)
|CHL Class: Reserve a seat now!
McKinney CHL/LTC Handgun License Classes serving McKinney, Allen, Frisco, Plano, Prosper, Princeton, Anna, Melissa, Collin County Texas
Learn to Shoot |
Choosing a Pistol |
CHL Class |
CHL Eligibility |
Ladies Classes |
Pistol Classes |
Class Schedule |
Gun Links |