McKinney CHL Classes
McKinney Concealed Carry Classes

School Safety Certification

 
In 2013, the Texas Legislature passed a bill concerning school safety, in particular, how teachers and school personnel who are allowed to carry guns on campus should be trained. Much of this revolves around what is called ALICE Training (Alert, Lockdown, Inform, Counter, Evacuate), and the course also draws from the work of Texas State University’s Advanced Law Enforcement Rapid Response Training (ALERRT) Program. The course was developed by Texas Department of Public Safety in accordance with Texas Government Code §411.1901 to teach employees of a school district or open-enrollment charter school about responsibilities related to school safety. The course content is applicable to anyone defending any facility (church, office, or school) against an active shooter threat.

The Texas School Safety Training Act does not mandate that a school system has to allow a teacher to carry concealed on campus; that is still a decision made at the local level by superintendants. However, the Legislature believed that superintendants or school boards might be more inclined to allow that policy if they felt that those teachers/staff had more intensive training. Clearly, even the perceived presence of armed and trained personnel on a school campus can have an impact on the decision-making process of an active shooter, as witness the 20 year history of such policies in Israel.

It has taken over two years to develop the curriculum for this certification, but that has been finished, and instructors have been trained and certified. This class requires 16 hours of instruction, with more classroom work, more range time, and a higher standard of firearm proficiency than the standard License To Carry. There are two written tests and two handgun proficiencies included. Topics covered will include

  • Protection of students and response to active shooters
  • Interaction of license holders with first responders
  • Tactics for denying an intruder entry into a classroom or school facility
  • Methods for increasing a license holders' accuracy with a handgun while under duress
The range portion of this course goes beyond the License To Carry minimum standards, teaching presentation from concealment, shooting from cover and other skills. Students must also pass the Texas License to Carry shooting test with a score of 90% or higher (225 points) and complete a 140 round Shooting Under Duress shooting exercise developed by DPS for this course.

In addition, although not a requirement for the certificate, students will be coached on, and take, the FBI Agent Pistol Qualification. If you pass it, that will be reported to your supervisor as a significant upgrade to your skill-set.

This course is both a state-certified and state-developed course, and the training it provides will be more legally defensible in court than other uncertified courses offered by private sector schools.

Since 2010, there has been a school shooting, on average, once a month, somewhere in the US. These people are not punks out to steal something from your car; they are often either seriously disturbed and unpredictable teens, or detached, loner adults with a goal to kill everyone in sight, for reasons often unknowable (Columbine, Sandy Hook, Virginia Tech, Parkland (FL)).

This two-day class includes frank discussion about using deadly force to protect a school, videos, practical exercises, and 200 rounds of handgun training. If you don't think you would be able to fire a weapon multiple times to stop a threat in your school, barricade a classroom, or take initiative against an intruder, then this may not be the class for you. It is not necessary to be a SWAT Officer, but it is necessary to have, or develop, the right mindset to do whatever it takes to protect your students. This class will help you achieve that.

This training is the same offered in many business environments (but at lower cost), and can be applied there as well.

The cost for this training is $200.00 per person (you provide a handgun and ammo), and the class size is strictly limited to 6. There are no other fees.

Upon successful completion of the course, participants will receive a Texas DPS Certificate of Training. This will then be filed with Texas Department of Public Safety as a part of their License to Carry in accordance with Texas Government Code 411.1901.

McKinney Firearms Training is one of a very few companies in the Dallas area to be certified by DPS to offer this training. Due to the setup and time requirements, these are only scheduled periodically. If you would like me to contact your school administration, please call or email.

Submit your email for notices of upcoming classes. Opt out any time. Addresses are purged after 120 days.

         




Plano CHL
McKinney CHL/LTC Handgun License Classes serving McKinney, Allen, Frisco, Plano, Prosper, Princeton, Anna, Collin County Texas

Home | About | Learn to Shoot | Choosing a Pistol | Reviews | CHL Class | CHL Eligibility | Training
Glossary | Ladies Classes | Pistol Classes | FAQs | Class Schedule | Gun Links | Blog | Payments